Federal Circuit Announcement

This morning the Federal Circuit announced that newly-installed Chief Judge Moore (who on Saturday assumed the position of Chief Judge) has appointed seven new members of the court’s Advisory Council, including a new Chair of the Council. Here is the text of this morning’s announcement, along with a brief rundown of the new members of the Advisory Council.

Chief Judge Kimberly A. Moore has appointed the following new members to the Advisory Council for the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit: Deanne Maynard (Chair), Claudia Burke, Alexander Canizares, Adam Keser, Monica Lateef, Melissa Patterson, and Katherine Smith.  These appointments are for terms of three years and are effective May 22, 2021.  The full announcement is available on the court’s website.

Deanne Maynard is a Partner at Morrison & Foerster LLP. As indicated on her online bio, she argued two cases originating at the Federal Circuit, MedImmune v. Genentech and Sandoz v. Amgen, at the Supreme Court.

Claudia Burke is an Assistant Branch Director at the United States Department of Justice in its Commercial Litigation Branch – Civil Division.

Alexander Canizares serves as Senior Counsel at Perkins Coie LLP, where he represents government contractors and other companies in litigation, investigations, and regulatory matters involving federal departments and agencies.

Adam Keser serves as Chief Intellectual Property Counsel and Associate General Counsel at Saint-Gobain Corporation.

Monica Lateef is an Associate Solicitor in the Office of the Solicitor at the United States Patent and Trademark Office.

Melissa Patterson serves as an Assistant Director in the Civil Appellate Division of the United States Department of Justice. Currently, however, she has been placed on detail as an Assistant to the Solicitor General of the United States.

Katherine Smith is Deputy General Counsel of the United States Merit Systems Protection Board in its Office of General Counsel.